MEN'S LACROSSE: Nadelen to Compete on U.S. National Training Team
Courtesy: Athletics Media Relations  
Release: 06/16/2009
View larger
Coach Shawn Nadelen is one of 40 players competing on the U.S. men's...
Courtesy:Scott Thornton


SMITHFIELD, R.I. Tiger men’s lacrosse assistant coach Shawn Nadelen has qualified to compete as a member of the 2010 U.S. men’s national training team as selected by US Lacrosse officials.


Nadelen participated in a three-day tryout at Bryant University earlier this month and will now have an opportunity to be selected to play in the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championship in Manchester, England from July 10-24, 2010.


There were 84 players at the three-day tryout. From those 84 players, a group of 40 was selected to compete on the training team.


A 2001 graduate of Johns Hopkins University, Nadelen has served as the Tigers’ defensive coordinator for the last five seasons. He has helped the Tigers to a pair of NCAA Tournament appearances and four CAA Tournament appearances.


In addition, Nadelen is in his ninth season playing for the Washington Bayhawks of Major League Lacrosse. One of the original Bayhawks, he has played in 88 career games, including all five this season. He has scored five goals with two assists in his career along with 192 ground balls.

Team USA will compete in three training weekends during the fall of 2009. After those three weekends, the roster will be cut to the FIL-mandated size of 23 players for the 2010 World Championship.

2010 U.S. Men’s Training Team:
M Matt Abbott Washington Bayhawks (Syracuse ’09)
M Stephen Berger Long Island Lizards (Washington ’04)
A Ryan Boyle - Boston Cannons (Princeton ’04)
M Steven Brooks Chicago Machine (Syracuse ’08)
A/M Kevin Buchanan Washington Bayhawks (Ohio State ’08)
M Kevin Cassese Boston Cannons (Duke ’03)
D Joe Cinosky Toronto Nationals (Maryland ’09)
A/M Brandon Corp Boston Cannons (Colgate ’09)
A/M Ned Crotty Duke 09
A Matt Danowski Long Island Lizards (Duke ’08)
G Brian Dougherty Long Island Lizards (Maryland ’95)
D DJ Driscoll Chicago Machine (Notre Dame ’06)
FO Chris Eck Boston Cannons (Colgate ’08)
G Adam Fullerton Denver Outlaws (Army ’08)
M John Glynn Chicago Machine (Cornell ’09)
M Kyle Harrison Denver Outlaws (Johns Hopkins ’05)
G Mickey Jarboe Quicksilver LC (Navy ’00)
A Kevin Leveille Chicago Machine (UMass ’03)
A Mike Leveille Chicago Machine (Syracuse ’08)
D Eric Martin Denver Outlaws (Salisbury ’04)
D Ryan McClay Boston Cannons (Cornell ’03)
LSM Parker McKee Duke ’10
A Brendan Mundorf Denver Outlaws (UMBC ’06)
D Shawn Nadelen Washington Bayhawks (Johns Hopkins ’01)
LSM Nick O’Hara Toronto Nationals (Duke ’07)
M Stephen Peyser Long Island Lizards (Johns Hopkins ’08)
D Nicky Polanco Long Island Lizards (Hofstra ’02)
M Matt Poskay Boston Cannons (Virginia ’06)
A Ryan Powell Big Foot LC (Syracuse ’00)
M Paul Rabil Boston Cannons (Johns Hopkins ’08)
D Jack Reid Boston Cannons (Massachusetts ’06)
M Max Seibald Denver Outlaws (Cornell ’09)
M Chris Schiller Sailin’ Shoe LC (Penn State ’99)
FO Alex Smith Washington Bayhawks (Delaware ’07)
M Matt Striebel Chicago Machine (Princeton ’01)
LSM Kyle Sweeney Boston Cannons (Georgetown ’03)
M Joe Walters Toronto Nationals (Maryland ’06)
A Drew Westervelt Denver Outlaws (UMBC ’07)
M Matt Zash Long Island Lizards (Duke ’06)
D Lee Zink Denver Outlaws (Maryland ’04)

Back to Lacrosse (M)

Official Online Store
Towson Photos

Union Memorial Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
Under Armour