Trio of Tigers Named to All-Invitational Teams
Courtesy: Athletics Media Relations  
Release: 11/20/2012

RICHMOND, Ky. – A trio of Towson University men's basketball players were named to All-Invitational teams at the conclusion of the 2012 Comfort Suites Invitational Monday. Junior Jerrelle Benimon was named to the first team, while graduate student Bilal Dixon and junior Marcus Damas were selected to the second team.
The All-Invitational first team included Glenn Cosey and Mike DiNunno from EKU; Javonte Green from Radford; Kennesaw State’s Markeith Cummings; and Benimon. 

The All-Invitational second team consisted of Deverin Muff from EKU; Ya Ya Anderson of Radford; DJ McCommons from Cincinnati Christian; Damas and Dixon.
DiNunno keyed two Eastern Kentucky runs that allowed the Colonels to overcome a 16-point deficit against Radford on Sunday and remain unbeaten. Green had the second highest point total in a game in the invitational with 28 points on 11-for-13 shooting from the field against EKU. Cummings’ 31 points against Radford were the most scored in a single game in the invitational and he became Kennesaw State’s all-time leading scorer with 13 points against Towson. Benimon posted two double-doubles in four games and was the only participant to average 10 or more rebounds per game.
The Comfort Suites Invitational included five teams and featured nine games played over six days. Host Eastern Kentucky captured the invitational championship by going 4-0. Towson was the runner-up with a 3-1 record.
Comfort Suites Invitational Results

Nov. 9: EKU 89, Cincinnati Christian 56
Nov. 12: Radford 76, Cincinnati Christian 71 (OT)
Nov. 16: EKU 85, Kennesaw State 71, Towson 75, Radford 67
Nov. 17: EKU 71, Towson 69 (OT), Radford 67, Kennesaw State 58
Nov. 18: EKU 83, Radford 75, Towson 69, Kennesaw State 63
Nov. 19: Towson 79, Cincinnati Christian 40
Comfort Suites Invitational Standings

Eastern Kentucky: 4-0
Towson: 3-1
Radford: 2-2
Kennesaw State: 0-3
Cincinnati Christian: 0-3
All-Invitational Teams

First Team                                   
Jerrelle Benimon, Towson                    
Glenn Cosey, EKU (MVP)                 
Markeith Cummings, Kennesaw State
Mike DiNunno, EKU
Javonte Green, Radford        
Second Team                          
Ya Ya Anderson, Radford                   
Marcus Damas, Towson                       
Bilal Dixon, Towson                            
DJ McCommons                                
Deverin Muff, EKU

Support Towson University Athletics by making a tax deductible donation to the Tiger Athletic Fund. For more information follow this link or to give now, click here.

Follow this link to purchase tickets to upcoming events.

Back to Basketball (M)

Official Online Store
Towson Photos

Union Memorial Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
Under Armour